The Solomon Islands

The Solomon Islands present countless opportunities to study marine and terrestrial science as well as threats to biodiversity, cultural heritage and public health that stem from climate change, development and tourism.

Lying east of Papua New Guinea, the archipelago comprises six main and some 900 small islands, which feature significantly biodiverse reef systems, rainforests, mountain hillsides, lagoons and rivers.

Honiara, the capital, is on the island of Guadalcanal. It has a sea port at Point Cruz, and the Matanikau River flows through it. Subject to monsoon rains, the region has wet periods from November to April.

The archipelago's Western Province is known for its emerald seas and palm-fringed beaches, and includes the islands of New Georgia, Kolombangara and Tetepare. Here, members of increasingly sophisticated community programs are fighting the effects of logging and commercial fishing.

Munda, a string of villages on the south-western tip of New Georgia, is one of the Western Province's largest communities. It lies on the shores of the spectacular Roviana Lagoon, which teems with marine life.

Kolombangara Island’s near-circular extinct volcano stretches 30 kilometres at its base, and forms part of the Western Province’s highest mountain range. The crater’s slopes support pristine rainforest that is home to an extraordinary variety of flora and fauna, including several extremely rare bird and frog species.

Nusa Tuva, a small coral-fringed island off Kolombangara, was established by locals as a Marine Protected Area under the WWF Coral Triangle Program.

Tetepare Island, the Southern Hemisphere’s largest uninhabited tropical island, is the focus of the Solomons’ leading conservation project.

At the turn of the century, traditional owners rejected impending forestry activities and created the Tetepare Descendants’ Association, with the aim of managing and protecting the island’s abundant resources. Here, you'll find dugongs, sea turtles and giant coconut crabs.